The Santo Crocifisso Church

Since the old building was no longer fit for purpose, in 1912 the decision was taken to demolish it and build the present-day church, which was designed by the priest and engineer Spirito Maria Chiappetta and consecrated in 1913.
The external structure of the building displays an interesting 30m bell tower.
Inside, the decorative neo-Gothic high altar is particularly interesting. It was designed in the nineteenth century by the engineer Volloresi and is made of polychrome marble. It surrounds the simulacrum of Our Lord on the Cross, a wooden crucifix from the sixteenth century, which is particularly revered by the churchgoers of Desio. Other interesting pieces include an oil painting from the seventeenth century depicting Saint Bartholomew and a copy of Mantegna’s Polyptych of Saint Andrew, the original of which is found at the Pinacoteca di Brera art gallery. Another must-see is the Caravaggio-style Ecce Homo, dating from the late seventeenth century. An eighteenth century cabinet and wooden reliquaries can be seen in the sacristy.
The rest of the decorative and artistic work is mostly modern.